Four and a Dog

A blog about family life

Ten Whole Minutes- Toddler Style

The other day I wrote a post about how much I was able to achieve in one whole hour without the the added complication of children. Today I realised that I am but a mere novice compared to my 2 year old daughter.

Bruiser requires a fair amount of pacing in order to go to sleep. He also requires an extractor fan, a lot of jiggling and Silent Night to be sung over and over and over… During these times, Diva usually gets to watch TV (I know, I’m an awful parent). For a long time this worked really well. Diva thought she was getting extra treats and I could focus on Bruiser without a toddler shouting and dancing around my feet. Unfortunately, she’s on to me. Now whenever I ask if she wants to watch TV, she says, “No ‘ank you, Mummy. What are you doing?”

So I have begun to look for alternative means to entertain my darling daughter while the pacing continues. Today I gave her a tub of pens, some paper and a large mat to avoid carpet stains. I know what you’re thinking, “Crazy plan! At least sit her at the table.” No good I’m afraid. That’s where the extractor fan is also located and thus where the pacing must take place.

Ten minutes I was in the kitchen before coming back to check on her. During that time she had produced no less than nine pictures, all of which were proudly displayed on the kitchen door with blu-tak. She had also pulled out several of her books from the book case and all the cushions off the sofa; three musical toys were playing three different songs; she’d removed her trousers; and the blinds had been shut.

In the few seconds it took me to survey the damage, she had gone in to the kitchen, moved a chair to the counter and had two hands full of the cake mixture we’d been preparing earlier. Just as I was about to enter full cross mode she turned to me with a mouth covered in cake goo and said, “I missed you, Mummy. Can I have a cuddle?”

Man, she’s good. I still have a lot to learn.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

