Four and a Dog

A blog about family life

Shopping

Today I took Diva shopping for a party dress. Normally I just buy her whatever is on sale or that comes to hand in the supermarket. Don’t get me wrong, it still needs to match. You should see my face if Hubby has dressed her and the socks are the wrong colour or her hair slide doesn’t match. I mean, can you imagine?!? It’s just that we also try not to spend very much on clothes that will only be worn a few times before they’re too small or out of season (weather wise not fashion wise).

Now that Diva has been invited to a couple of parties, I felt it was my duty to make sure she is properly attired. With that in my mind, I decided to take her on a proper shopping trip. Grampy very kindly wandered about with Bruiser while Diva and I hit the shops. Mostly the dresses belonged at weddings or on eighteen year old girls, but eventually we found a few we liked in Next. For the first time ever I took Diva in to the changing rooms to try stuff on. For awhile she enjoyed herself running in and out of the empty cubicles in her underwear. However, after she’d tried on dress number one and seen herself in the mirror, she wanted more. She also wanted to buy all of them.

I explained that she could only have one, so she chose the most expensive. She claims it’s because the net under the skirt helps her to balance- a likely story. She liked it so much she didn’t want to take it off. I promised that she could do a fashion show for Nana when we got home, so she relented. After saying goodbye to all her friends (her many reflections in all the mirrors) we were allowed to head off.

We then walked around some more shops while Diva proudly carried her new dress, in a bag hooked on to the crook of her arm. Our trip ended with a quick stop in Costa coffee for a drink and snack. For a child that has never shown any interest in her clothes, or shopping, she has taken to it like a fish to water. What have I unleashed?

Back at home, she couldn’t wait to get changed in to her new dress and insisted on some music so that she could dance. Nana put on, ‘I Feel Pretty’ from West Side Story- Perfect. The music then changed to various tracks from Glee and included the videos. Diva attempted to copy some of the moves. The Diva bum wiggle may become her signature move.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

